SSHH 31

Chapter 31 The Power of the Devil

While holding Liza, Sophia looked at Chrono’s back. He walked toward the dragon without stopping.

“–Lu … o!”

The dragon also approached Chrono with his fangs flickering, but Chrono’s steps did not stop.

“Ch, Chrono-san … Why are you confronting the dragon that left Liza so tattered with such a normal heart?”

I know that Chrono was strong. However, even so, I didn’t understand the meaning of going to the dragon that had hurt the Demon King so far without being scared.

As my voice trembled, Liza on my chest spilled some words.

“I had talked to Chrono before, and at that time I was telling him not to hunt dragons.”

“Eh … what is that …”

“In Chrono’s hometown, this may have been a part of everyday life.”

Sophia listened to Liza’s words but couldn’t understand them well.

It’s usually not possible for dragon hunting to be a daily routine. I thought so and tried to talk to Liza, but before that,

“…!”

The dragon’s headbutt struck where Chrono was.

“Huh …!”

The headbutt was powerful enough to shake the floor and pierce it.

Sophia curled her wings forward and hardened them into a shield against the shock and dust waves that followed.

The vampire’s wings weren’t hurt by that much, though they’re hit by shards of wood.

“Wow, nice defense, Sophia-chan”

“Oh, thank you, but Chrono-san…!”

She was shocked like this. No matter how much stronger Chrono was, he shouldn’t be unharmed.

With that in her thoughts, Sofia fearfully opened her wing shield and confirmed the scene in front of her.

Then,

“Eh?”

There was a dragon in its knees, with its head and forelegs hanging on the floor. Its cheek had a mark that looked like it was hit with a huge blunt instrument.

And next to the hit mark, Chrono stood…

“One down.”

…wearing an armor made of black chains of light on his right arm.

“Eh……?”

“The count is over… Wow, Chrono was that strong.”

Liza was interested in the scene, and Sophia was surprised. And they both stared at Chrono and the dragon, stunned,

“Demon King! Thank you for waiting!”

Dante ran from behind.

“Ah … Professor Dante? You’re back.”

“Yes, I called for support! I jumped into the hole and made a shortcut, but the main team should come in a few minutes! So that dragon is…”

After saying so, Dante quickly saw the dragon in front of him. And it seemed that he recognized the sight of the dragon kneeling.

“… Demon King. Sophia-kun. What the hell is this situation …?”

It was Liza who gave the answer to him who was appalled.

“Hmm, Professor Dante. Thank you. But I think the main team will not be in time or  it will end before that.”

“That is … Chrono-kun? He wears black light like armor on his right arm …”

“That’s right. If you go on and meddle there, you will get in the way, so let’s take a closer look now …. And I don’t think there will be an opportunity to see Chrono’s seriousness soon. Hey, Sophia-chan.”

“Oh, yes!”

Nodding to Liza’s words, Sophia kept staring at the devil who wielded power in front of her. She couldn’t take her eyes off.

“… Oh!”

Within seconds of going down, the Glutton Lizard got up with agile movements.

“Oh, do you wake up? Even if it looks like a tree, it’s a dragon.”

It was hit hard, but the skeleton was solid. I couldn’t crush it with a single blow. However, I was able to observe its body while it was lying down. Thanks to that, it turned out that the heritage of this Demon King had the same body structure as the dragons in the countryside.

Because it has the same body structure as a country dragon, there are many ways to do it. The easiest thing to do is to aim at the reverse scale, which is the weak point of the dragon.

The part between the neck and chin is harder than other scales, but the magical mass that is the lifeline of the dragon is buried inside. If you go through it, the dragon is as good as dead.

The color is slightly different, so it’s easy to notice if you’re used to it. And it is also so in this dragon.

Then the target part was determined, and all I had to do was wield my strength.

“Ga, ah!”

As he got up, he tried to bite into the ground like a sword. But…

“Oh, it’s slower than the spear of the first Demon King.”

It was easy to dodge by moving my body back a little.

The Glutton Lizard noticed that there was only floor in its mouth, stood up as it was.

“…!”

Then, it put more power on its legs and prepared for the charge. It’s probably trying to eat me while rushing in.

…… It would be nice if you could come nearby.

I pull my right arm and hold it. Then, a chain of blacklight wrapped around it and gathered This light was a mixture of my own vitality and magical power that had been stored in my horns.

However, there was a limit to what can be done. Would it be converted to propulsion, impact, or used to protect the body? Only to that extent was its versatility.

When hunting dragons, it was used exclusively as a booster for body protection and propulsion.

It didn’t have a chain-like shape when I was in the countryside, but … well, if it could be used as it was, there was no problem.

I treated it as a booster before, but I was able to hit it without any problems. Rather, I feel that I was faster and stronger than when I was in the country. So…

There was nothing wrong with punching through the reverse scale. It would serve as a booster until the light clinging to my right arm was exhausted.

This power is very plain and simple, and even machines can be used as substitutes, so it cannot be said that it is a characteristic of a demon. It’s a normal power, but it’s not very demon-like.

“Even with that power, it’s enough to be a threat in front of you.”

“Oooooooooooh!”

With all his might, the Glutton Lizard decided to charge. So, I also pulled my arms to the maximum and pushed forward.

As I came towards him, the glutton Lizard tried to turn his head down to eat his prey. But

“It’s a traditional demon technique that I learned in my hometown. Eat it to your heart’s content.”

Earlier than that, I slipped under the dragon’s chin. Then, with a scooping motion, I swung my fist toward the reverse scale of the dragon’s jaw.

“Devil Skill- ‘Demonic Blow’”

At that moment, all the chains around my arm turned into a black light and pushed forward. Sharper and faster than the released fist, the black pillar of light hits the reverse scale directly…

“…!”

With the same momentum, I punched out from under the chin to the top of the Glutton Lizard’s head. The giant body whose head was crushed, lifted by the impact, and ‘Goron’ fell down rolling.

Within a few seconds after that, Glutton lizard’s body suddenly withered and stopped moving.

After seeing it, I was convinced that the extermination of the vermin was over.

“Well, it’s over as usual.”

He won even to the dragon in the Demon King’s dungeon as usual. Thanks to that, he returned to Sophia and the others.

PrevTOCNext

4 thoughts on “SSHH 31

  1. Thanks for the treat. Take care.🖖

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for the chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close